blur-blurred-book-46274.jpg

Hi.

Welcome to my blog. Pull up a chair, find your next read and let’s chat about it!

Review: The Prince (Spy Girl Book 1) by Jillian Dodd

Review: The Prince (Spy Girl Book 1) by Jillian Dodd

From USA Today bestselling author Jillian Dodd comes the first book in a sizzling new series filled with action and adventure. Fans of The Selection and The Hunger Games will discover a heart-pounding thrill ride of espionage and suspense set in glittering high society.

An eighteen-year-old covert agent is pulled out of training before graduation by Black X, a espionage group so secret even the President of the United States doesn't know it exists.

For her first mission, she must go undercover as the long-lost daughter of a recently deceased billionaire, infiltrate high society, and protect the Prince of Montrovia from assassination. 
But Prince Lorenzo is known as the Playboy Prince for a reason and his sensuality and charisma add a whole other level of complication to her mission. 

She knows that her every move is being watched, but what she doesn’t know is that the Prince is just a chess piece in a bigger game that will have world-wide ramifications. And that Blackwood Academy, the place she has called home for the past six years has secrets of its own.

Review

While reading, I was very conflicted. And even now, that I finished the first book, I'm still very conflicted about my thoughts on this book. 

The Prince centers on an eighteen-year-old convert agent who is tasked with protecting the prince of Montrovia. Her organization got word that a group is attempting to assassinate him. Unfortunately for the young agent, she soon realizes that this mission is going to be a lot more than protecting the prince. 

The main issue I had with the book is that it lacked development, build up and connection. It was hard to keep my focus and continue reading. It randomly switched POVs. I don't have an issue with multiple POVs, however, the transition of POVs in The Prince felt sloppy and unnecessary. For example, the majorty of the book is told in the first perspective of spy girl, however, in a latter chapter it randomly changed to third person. That switch wasn't effective nor was it necessary. That chapter would have worked in first person. 

Like mentioned earlier, I had conflicting thoughts with this book. I found myself disliking more aspects of the book than liking them. But the only thing that I did particularly like is the mystery of the main character's parents. I found that to be the most interesting aspect of the book. And I would have enjoyed more focus on it. That mystery will keep me continuing this series. 

Characters 

There were several characters and it was hard to keep up with all of them due to the lack of personality and originality.

The main character was okay. I didn't necessarily have too big of an issue with her directly. However, I did have an issue with the romance. The romance felt unorganized. It can be stated that there are three separate romance storylines going on with the main character. It felt overwhelming, and I would have liked for the author to have one set romance and developed fully. 

Final Analysis 

The Prince (Spy Girl Book 1) provides a story that will leave the reader feeling removed and confused. 

Review: Misunderstanding the Billionaire's Heir by Anne-Marie Meyer

Review: Misunderstanding the Billionaire's Heir by Anne-Marie Meyer

Review:  Beyond the Point by Claire Gibson

Review: Beyond the Point by Claire Gibson