Sunny (Defenders Track Team Series #3) by Jason Reynolds

Sunny tries to shine despite his troubled past in this third novel in the critically acclaimed Track series from National Book Award finalist Jason Reynolds.

Ghost. Patina. Sunny. Lu. Four kids from wildly different backgrounds, with personalities that are explosive when they clash. But they are also four kids chosen for an elite middle school track team—a team that could qualify them for the Junior Olympics. They all have a lot of lose, but they all have a lot to prove, not only to each other, but to themselves. Sunny is the main character in this novel, the third of four books in Jason Reynold’s electrifying middle grade series.

Sunny is just that—sunny. Always ready with a goofy smile and something nice to say, Sunny is the chillest dude on the Defenders team. But Sunny’s life hasn’t always been sun beamy-bright. You see, Sunny is a murderer. Or at least he thinks of himself that way. His mother died giving birth to him, and based on how Sunny’s dad treats him—ignoring him, making Sunny call him Darryl, never “Dad”—it’s no wonder Sunny thinks he’s to blame. It seems the only thing Sunny can do right in his dad’s eyes is win first place ribbons running the mile, just like his mom did. But Sunny doesn’t like running, never has. So he stops. Right in the middle of a race.

With his relationship with his dad now worse than ever, the last thing Sunny wants to do is leave the other newbies—his only friends—behind. But you can’t be on a track team and not run. So Coach asks Sunny what he wants to do. Sunny’s answer? Dance. Yes, dance. But you also can’t be on a track team and dance. Then, in a stroke of genius only Jason Reynolds can conceive, Sunny discovers a track event that encompasses the hard hits of hip-hop, the precision of ballet, and the showmanship of dance as a whole: the discus throw. As Sunny practices the discus, learning when to let go at just the right time, he’ll let go of everything that’s been eating him up inside, perhaps just in time.

Buy on Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Princess Kitty by Steve Metzger and Illustrated by Ella Okstad

Princess Kitty is in for a royal treat! Her palace attendants are throwing a surprise party in her honor. At least, that’s what she thinks! There will be games, presents, cake, and more. But when the guests start arriving, no one is paying attention to the kitty of honor! What’s a princess to do?

From award-winning children’s book author Steve Metzger, and accompanied by colorful, vibrant illustrations by Ella Okstad, comes Princess Kitty, a sweet and silly story about a kitty who learns to share the spotlight.

Perfect for fans of They All Saw a Cat and Bad Kitty!

Buy on Amazon | Barnes and Noble

My Weirdest School #9: Miss Tracy Is Spacey! by Dan Gutmanand Illustrated by Jim Paillot

In this ninth book in the new My Weirdest School series, Miss Universe is coming to Ella Mentry School! Her real name is Miss Tracy, and she's a retired scientist who will teach the students about planets and the solar system. But what happens when A.J. is cast as the planet Uranus in the school play?

Perfect for reluctant readers and word lovers alike, Dan Gutman’s hugely popular My Weird School chapter book series has something for everyone. Don’t miss the hilarious adventures of A.J. and the gang!

Buy on Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Fancy Nancy and the Dazzling Jewels by Jane O'Connor and Illustrated by Robin Preiss Glasser

Join Fancy Nancy in a fabulous story about friendship and sharing, complete with fancy stickers!

Fancy Nancy has so many jewels that her jewelry boxes are overflowing! (That’s a fancy way of saying she can’t even close them.) But when she and Bree decide to have a jewelry swap, Nancy starts to miss what she gave away—her old charm bracelet. She wants to ask for it back, but what if Bree wants to keep it?

Perfect for shared reading with your best friend, from the bestselling dazzling duo Jane O’Connor and Robin Preiss Glasser.

Buy on Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Open If You Dare by Dana Middleton

Like Birdie Adams didn’t have enough problems this summer. But Birdie’s Birdie. And if a long-buried box has "Open if you dare" written on its lid, then Birdie and her best friends, Ally and Rose, are going to open it.

And now, along with everything else that’s going on—Ally’s pitching slump, Rose’s banishment to Britain, and Birdie’s annoying younger sister being, you know, annoying—the best friends are caught up in solving a mystery planted by a dead girl forty years ago.

Buy on Amazon | Barnes and Noble

The Infinity Year of Avalon James by Dana Middleton

A young girl and her best friend hope to receive magical powers the year they turn ten in this enchanting middle-grade novel.

Avalon James and Atticus Brightwell have a secret—one that they aren't allowed to discuss with anyone. This secret is shared between two best friends. When you and your best friend turn ten years old magical things are said to happen. You both will receive some kind of magical power. It can be a power you can call on time and time again. Or it can be a power that comes once when you need it most. It's your Infinity Year and the possibilities are endless.

After a year of bullying at school and watching her family be torn apart, Avalon is depending on her magical ability appearing soon to help. The clock is ticking toward her eleventh birthday, which would be the end of her powers, and Avalon's hopes are running high. Will she and Atticus get the powers they so desperately want and need?

Dana Middleton's debut novel is a wonderfully enchanting story of the possibility of magic and the even more magical bond between two best friends.

Buy on Amazon | Barnes and Noble

The Little Fire Truck by Margery Cuyler and Illustrations by Bob Kolar

The Little Fire Truck is ready for rescues big and small in Book 3 of the Little Vehicles series!

Join firefighter Jill and her fearless little fire truck as they zip all over town to put out smoky fires and rescue those in need, with the help of the fire crew in this picture book companion to The Little Dump Truck and The Little School Bus. There’s lots of challenging work to do, but this trusty team is always ready to rescue!

Buy on Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Little Bigfoot, Big City (Book #2 of The Littlest Bigfoot) by Jennifer Weiner

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Jennifer Weiner comes the second book in the “smartly crafted” (BCCB) and “heartwarming” (School Library Journal) trilogy about friendship, furry creatures, and finding the place where you belong.

Twelve-year-old Alice Mayfair has a secret. She’s not human. But who—or what—is she? While Alice goes in search of her past, her best friend Millie Maximus, a tiny Bigfoot with a big voice, prepares for her future. Together they plan to sneak off to New York City, where Millie hopes to audition for The Next Stage, the TV show she’s sure will rocket her to stardom and free her from the suffocating expectations of her tribe.

Meanwhile Jeremy Bigelow’s Bigfoot research has put him on the radar of a shadowy government organization led by a mysterious man named Trip Carruthers. The Bigfoots have something, a chemical so powerful and dangerous that the government will do anything to obtain it. And Jeremy is tasked with securing it once and for all.

In an unexpected twist of fate, Jeremy, Alice, and Millie find themselves facing off at a crossroads. But in order to determine where they’re going, they have to first figure out where they come from—and draw the line between what is good, what is evil, and what it means to be a hero.

Buy on Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Beep Beep Beep Time for Sleep! by Claire Freedman and Illustrated by Richard Smythe

From the author of Dinosaurs Love Underpants comes a charming picture book that follows a group of tired trucks and machines as they get ready for bedtime after a long day at the building site. 

“Beep, beep, beep!” called the sleepy machines after a busy day on the building site. Follow along as the machines settle in for the night in this adorable picture book filled with sweet rhymes.

Buy on Amazon | Barnes and Noble