blur-blurred-book-46274.jpg

Hi.

Welcome to my blog. Pull up a chair, find your next read and let’s chat about it!

Review: The Wonder of Lost Causes by Nick Trout

Review: The Wonder of Lost Causes by Nick Trout

Summary

In this unforgettable novel, perfect for fans of An Unexpected Grace and A Dog’s Way Home, a single mom and her chronically ill child receive a valuable lesson from an unlikely source—a very special dog who unexpectedly enters their lives and shows them that one person’s lost cause can be another’s greatest gift . . .

Dr. Kate Blunt will do anything for her son, Jasper. Well, almost anything. Since Jasper has the incurable lung disease cystic fibrosis, Kate’s always told him he couldn’t get a dog. It’s a tough call, but she’s a single mom taking care of a kid who fights for every breath he takes. The daily medical routine that keeps Jasper alive is complicated enough. Worse still, Kate’s personal resolve runs contrary to her work as the veterinarian in charge of a Cape Cod animal shelter, where she is on a mission to find forever homes for dogs in desperate need.

The scarred, mistreated wreck of a dog that turns up doesn’t stand a chance. Named Whistler, he’s too old, too ugly. But the dog forms an instantaneous bond with Jasper. Whistler never makes a sound, yet he speaks to Jasper in a myriad of mysterious ways. The clock’s ticking, the dog’s future hangs in the balance, and Jasper would do anything to find him a home; but Whistler has chosen them—for a reason.

Review

This one will definitely appeal to those who love dogs. Books that blend friendship between children and their fury friends always have a nice appeal.

I enjoyed the dynamics between Kate and Jasper. Their relationship was touching. Those out there with a kid that has an illness, I’m sure you will relate to her. Jasper was a nice read because even though he has some strikes against him health wise, he didn’t let that define his life.

Here’s where I have to be a little critical. The overall plot of the book I thought was sweet. For me, there was a shift somewhere in the book that I felt disconnected. I’m not sure if it was the pace of the book or it how it played out. During the book, I got the sense of the finality of Jasper’s life and then when I read the epilogue, I was really surprised. It just seemed to contradict the implications in the book based on the progression of what was happening to him. Despite that, I’m glad there was a positive outcome.

Overall, I think the intention of the book was good. The characters were memorable. It was a nice read.

Review: Getting Into Character: Seven Secrets A Novelist Can Learn From Actors by Brandilyn Collins

Review: Getting Into Character: Seven Secrets A Novelist Can Learn From Actors by Brandilyn Collins

Review: Long Shot by Kennedy Ryan

Review: Long Shot by Kennedy Ryan